Four Lebanese governments were toppled by Public Protests since Lebanese Independence
By Global Research
Global Research, December 03, 2006
Al-Manar TV 2 December 2006
Url of this article:

Lebanon has known 78 governments since the establishment of the Lebanese Republic, 57 of which were formed after the independence in 1943. None of these governments was toppled in parliament, while some were forced to quit in the street. In 1974 the government of PM Riyad El-Soloh was forced to resign after demonstrations organized by the Labor Union, that was demanding a 15% raise of minimum wages. Even though the government agreed on a 10% raise, however it was forced to resign. In 1992, and four days after violent demonstrations broke out in the country, the first government of Omar Karameh resigned. His second government resigned again in the wake of the assassination of Former Prime Minister Martyr Rafiq Hariri, even though it was still enjoying the parliament’s confidence.

In 1969, late PM Rashid Karameh resigned following the death of several people who were demonstrating in support of the Palestinian resistance. Worth mentioning that the government of PM Amin Hafez did not see light in 1973 because of the Muslim Sunni objection to the appointment of two ministers, including Sunni figure Bahij Tabbara, arguing that they do not represent the Sunni Muslims. Hafez resigned so as not to appoint other ministers.

Disclaimer: The contents of this article are of sole responsibility of the author(s). The Centre for Research on Globalization will not be responsible for any inaccurate or incorrect statement in this article.