Collective Security Pact Council meets in Moscow
By Global Research
Global Research, September 05, 2008
Voice of Russia 5 September 2008
Url of this article:

photo RIANThe Presidents of the countries of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, or CSTO, are meeting in Moscow today in a session of the Organization’s top political body, the Collective Security Council, to focus on improving the Organization’s performance in guaranteeing security in the CSTO’s zone of responsibility. The plan specifically to approve the plan of joint action to cary out the United Nations Global antiterrorist strategy for 2008 through 2012 and take up trends in the military and political situation, including in the light of the recent developments in South Ossetia. The CSTO nations’ Presidents are believed to sign a declaration that will feature their common stand on the developments in South Ossetia and Abkhazia. The CSTO Foreign Ministers met in Moscow yesterday to adopt a statement on the situation in South Ossetia. The Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov feels the document offers an impartial assessment of the situation and condemns the attempts to use force to resolve conflicts. The Collective Security Treaty Organization was set up back in 1992 and comprises Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Disclaimer: The contents of this article are of sole responsibility of the author(s). The Centre for Research on Globalization will not be responsible for any inaccurate or incorrect statement in this article.