

Binding Legislation Required to Restrict Authority of the US President to Order Nuclear Strikes against Non-nuclear-weapon States

Open Letter to US Congress by Nuclear Physicists

By Global Research

Global Research, December 21, 2016

Global Research 11 February 2007

Region: <u>USA</u>

Theme: Militarization and WMD, Science

and Medicine

In-depth Report: IRAN: THE NEXT WAR?,

Nuclear War

This open letter to the US Congress signed by several prominent scientists and Nobel Laureates was first published by Global Research in February 2007

February 1, 2007

United States Congress Washington, DC

Dear Member of Congress:

As physicists, members of the profession that brought nuclear weapons into existence, we write to urge you to pass binding legislation to restrict the authority of the President to order nuclear strikes against non-nuclear-weapon states.

Last year, the American Physical Society issued a statement of "deep concern" about the "possible use of nuclear weapons against non-nuclear states and for pre-emptive counterproliferation purposes". In addition, 2000 of our fellow physicists have joined in a petition opposing recent changes in US nuclear weapons policies that contemplate the use of nuclear weapons against underground facilities of non-nuclear-weapon countries and for "rapid and favorable war termination on US terms". Some of us wrote to the President last year urging him to refrain from considering nuclear weapons use against non-nuclear adversaries.

Nuclear weapons are unique among weapons of mass destruction. Employment of nuclear weapons would kill untold number of innocent civilians in the target area, and the associated radioactive fallout could kill many thousands in other countries very far from the target. There are no sharp lines between small "tactical" nuclear weapons and large ones, nor between nuclear weapons targeting facilities and those targeting armies or cities. Crossing the nuclear threshold, even with a low-yield weapon, would erase the 60-year old taboo against the use of nuclear weapons and make their use by others more likely. If the victim is a non-nuclear-weapon state, such action would destroy, or at the very least severely undermine, the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, with disastrous consequences for United States and world security.

In view of the rising tensions with Iran and the potential for military confrontation, as well as the public statement by President Bush on April 18, 2006, that a nuclear strike against Iran is an option "on the table", we believe it is essential that Congress address this issue at the earliest possible time. In the case of non-nuclear adversaries there is no extreme urgency associated with response or preemption of nuclear attack against our country or our allies. We are firmly convinced that Congress should have a say on which course of action would best serve the American people on the use of the terrible weapons our profession helped create.

A decision that would have a major impact on the course of history and could ultimately threaten the survival of civilization should not be in the sole hands of the President unless absolutely unavoidable. We urge Congress to pass binding legislation to forbid the use of nuclear weapons by the United States against countries which do not possess nuclear weapons, except with explicit prior Congressional authorization for such action.

Sincerely,

Philip Anderson, Nobel Laureate, Physics Michael Fisher, Wolf Laureate, Physics Jerome Friedman, Nobel Laureate, Physics Kurt Gottfried, Chair, Union of Concerned Scientists David Gross, Nobel Laureate, Physics John Hall, Nobel Laureate, Physics Jorge Hirsch, Professor of Physics Leo Kadanoff, National Medal of Science, Physical Sciences Wolfgang Ketterle, Nobel Laureate, Physics Daniel Kleppner, Wolf Laureate, Physics Walter Kohn, Nobel Laureate, Chemistry Joel Lebowitz, Boltzmann Medalist Anthony Leggett, Nobel Laureate, Physics Eugen Merzbacher, President, American Physical Society, 1990 Douglas Osheroff, Nobel Laureate, Physics Norman Ramsey, Nobel Laureate, Physics Edwin Salpeter, Dirac Medalist Andrew Sessler, President, American Physical Society, 1998 Jack Steinberger, Nobel Laureate, Physics George Trilling, President, American Physical Society, 2001 Steven Weinberg, Nobel Laureate, Physics Frank Wilczek, Nobel Laureate, Physics

The original source of this article is Global Research Copyright © Global Research, Global Research, 2016

Comment on Global Research Articles on our Facebook page

Become a Member of Global Research

Articles by: Global Research

Disclaimer: The contents of this article are of sole responsibility of the author(s). The Centre for Research on Globalization will not be responsible for any inaccurate or incorrect statement in this article. The Centre of Research on Globalization grants permission to cross-post Global Research articles on community internet sites as long the source and copyright are acknowledged together with a hyperlink to the original Global Research article. For publication of Global Research articles in print or other forms including commercial internet sites, contact: publications@globalresearch.ca

www.globalresearch.ca contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available to our readers under the provisions of "fair use" in an effort to advance a better understanding of political, economic and social issues. The material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving it for research and educational purposes. If you wish to use copyrighted material for purposes other than "fair use" you must request permission from the copyright owner.

For media inquiries: publications@globalresearch.ca